Cantey Hanger Partner Jason Boatright Confirmed to Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission

FORT WORTH – The Texas Senate has voted unanimously to confirm Jason Boatright, a partner in the Dallas office of Cantey Hanger LLP, to the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission.

The commission oversees the agency that inspects, supervises and regulates every phase of businesses related to alcoholic beverages, including manufacturing, sales and distribution. Boatright’s appointment begins May 28, 2019, and is set to expire November 15, 2023.

“Jason’s appointment to the TABC is another example of his service to our state, and we are honored that he is associated with our firm,” said Michael Appleman, Managing Partner of Cantey Hanger.

While he serves on the commission, he will continue to represent his clients at Cantey Hanger in appeals and administrative law matters.

Before joining Cantey Hanger, Boatright served as a Justice on the Texas 5th Court of Appeals. He was also the Chief of the Attorney General’s Opinion Division and Director of the Texas Railroad Commission’s General Counsel Section.

“Justice Boatright is truly one of Texas’ great legal minds and his years of legal experience and impressive resume will make him a valuable member of our commission,” said TABC Chairman Kevin Lilly. “I fully expect Justice Boatright to play an important role in our transformation and look forward to hearing his ideas as we adopt the Legislature’s recommendations.”

Boatright received his Bachelor’s in Arts from Middlebury College, and a post-graduate diploma from the University of St. Andrews in Latin and Ancient History. He earned his J.D. from The University of Texas School of Law in 2003.

Boatright is a frequent speaker and published authority on Texas legal history. His legal activities include Trustee, Texas Supreme Court Historical Society; Co-Chair, State Bar of Texas Appellate Section Bench-Bar Liaison Committee; Vice Chair, Dallas Bar Association Minority Participation Committee; University of Texas School of Law Alumni Steering Committee; and The Federalist Society, Dallas Lawyers’ Chapter.