Sarah K. Walls Voted onto Board of North Texas Commission

FORT WORTH, TX. (Sept. 17, 2013) – Sarah K. Walls, a partner with the Cantey Hanger law firm and an area leader in environmental law, has been voted onto the Board of Directors of the North Texas Commission (NTC). She previously served as an NTC Board member from 2007-10.

Walls represents a wide variety of clients in the manufacturing, chemical, food and beverage, and aerospace industries, along with clients in the real estate, oil and gas, electric transmission and transportation sectors. Some examples include the DFW International Airport Board, Oncor Electric Delivery Co., Miller Brewing Co., and Bimbo Bakeries USA.

She has served the community with her expertise in environmental law. Currently, she is on the City of Fort Worth Water Utility Task Force. She was a founder and Chairman of the Environmental Law Section of the Tarrant County Bar Association. She is Chair of the Environmental and Safety Committee of the Fort Worth Chamber of Commerce and serves on its Board of Directors. She serves on the EPA’s National Compliance Advisory Panel. She has served on the Executive Committee of the Environmental and Natural Resources Section of the State Bar of Texas.

Walls received her B.A. from Emory College and her Juris Doctor from Harvard Law School.

Since 1971, the North Texas Commission has been a regional, non-profit consortium of businesses, cities, counties, chambers of commerce, economic development entities and higher education institutions. Its mission is to improve the economic vitality, infrastructure and lifestyle of North Texas by marketing the region, promoting collaboration and advocating on critical issues. Another Cantey Hanger partner, Allan Howeth, is a former director and past chairman of the NTC Board.

The North Texas Commission has worked to address regional problems and opportunities while focusing on ways to unify the North Texas region. It includes the 12-county area of Collin, Dallas, Delta, Denton, Ellis, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall, Tarrant and Wise. Together, those counties have a population in excess of 6.7 million, a gross metro product of $391 billion and 18 Fortune 500 companies. The North Texas Commission created and copyrighted the term “Metroplex” in 1972.